On June 15, 2010, Cindy Anthony stated in court, “I believe Caylee is still alive!”A little over a year after the memorial service that she coordinated.Is Cindy Anthony’s statement the first stage of the grieving process . . Denial?

Most people experience feelings of denial when grieving the loss of a loved one.The purpose for an open casket is therapeutic as it helps those effected by loss to have closure and also move on to the remaining four stages of grief.With all the media coverage of the Casey Anthony case it is difficult for most observers to entertain the possibility that Cindy Anthony may be still be enduring the denial phase of grief.Especially when considering the DNA test confirming the remains were indeed those of Caylee Anthony.

Watch NBC Interview with Licensed Counselor Jim West

So the big question is why would Cindy continue to say “I believe Caylee is still alive?”

First, it is possible, for Cindy to claim “Caylee is dead,” is too painful in the midst of all the loss she has already endured in the past two years.

1. The greatest loss: Caylee Anthony, her granddaughter.

2.Her Daughter, Casey Anthony is in jail and facing the death penalty if convicted.

3.Cindy lost her privacy.

4.She lost her community in such a short period of time.

5.They may lose their house as it’s currently in foreclosure.

Second, Cindy to claim Caylee is alive is considerably easier than accepting that Caylee was not only murdered, but alleged to be murdered by the hands of Cindy’s own daughter, Casey.Denial may be a way for Cindy to cope during this never-ending case.

Third, with all the continued media coverage and YouTube videos of Caylee, Cindy has not had a chance to get away from the Paparazzi, hecklers to grieve. It’s possible that when the case is over, then Cindy can go through her grieving process.

Fourth, some believe Cindy may be trying to discredit herself to look crazy to save Casey.If Cindy is diagnosed with a mental health illness or delusional, then the court may discredit her 911 calls. So Cindy may be desperate
ly trying everything she can to save Casey from the death penalty to prevent another traumatic loss.

What can Cindy or anyone else do that is in Denial:Regardless, if you know someone that is enduring tremendous loss there are the 5 Stages of Grief and Loss listed below.Be an encouragement to the person suffering, and validate their feelings.Let them tell their story.If they continue to have trouble moving through the stages of grief encourage them to talk to a mental health professional who specializes in grief.The first appointment with a counselor is often difficult so offer to go with them.

Below are the 5 Stages of Grief by Kübler-Ross model:

1.Denial – “I feel fine.”; “This can’t be happening, not to me.”
Denial is usually only a temporary defense for the individual. This feeling is generally replaced with heightened awareness of situations and individuals that will be left behind after death.

2.Anger – “Why me? It’s not fair!”; “How can this happen to me?”; “Who is to blame?” Once in the second stage, the individual recognizes that denial cannot continue. Because of anger, the person is very difficult to care for due to misplaced feelings of rage and envy. Any individual that symbolizes life or energy is subject to projected resentment and jealousy.

3.Bargaining – “Just let me live to see my children graduate.”; “I’ll do anything for a few more years.”; “I will give my life savings if…”
The third stage involves the hope that the individual can somehow postpone or delay death. Usually, the negotiation for an extended life is made with a higher power in exchange for a reformed lifestyle. Psychologically, the individual is saying, “I understand I will die, but if I could just have more time…”

4.Depression – “I’m so sad, why bother with anything?”; “I’m going to die… What’s the point?”; “I miss my loved one, why go on?”
During the fourth stage, the dying person begins to understand the certainty of death. Because of this, the individual may become silent, refuse visitors and spend much of the time crying and grieving. This process allows the dying person to disconnect oneself from things of love and affection. It is not recommended to attempt to cheer up an individual who is in this stage. It is an important time for grieving that must be processed.

5.Acceptance – “It’s going to be okay.”; “I can’t fight it, I may as well prepare for it.”
In this last stage, the individual begins to come to terms with their mortality or that of their loved one.


NOTE: you can freely redistribute this resource, electronically or in print, provided you leave the authors contact information below intact.